Thursday, 24 September 2009

Happy Heritage Day / National Braai Day!

Today is a public holiday, the Protea's are playing the New Zealand team in Pretoria (where the sun is blazing) and us in the Cape, well it's overcast but warm, but who cares, the whole of the Cape are glued to their TV screens, braais ablaze watching the cricket. They will eat later, much much later... I forgot just how sports mad South Africans are. So on this perfect day what to blog? I have picked a topic close to my heart, food.

KFC - They must of seen me coming, I'm a true meat/chicken, potatoes and gravy girl, no funny shaped little vegies for me. KFC South Africa, have created what I can only describe as my perfect meal. Its called a KFC bowl. It consists of the legendary KFC mash and gravy, with generous pieces of chicken  plopped in, it then gets a lavish topping of three types of cheese and mielies sprinkled on the top. Mielies I hear you cry! yukky veggie stuff... Don't worry you can ask for a bowl with no Mielies, hence its still  my perfect meal.



KFC have come up with an amazing TV advert to support the bowl. There is a concerned Mom, checking out her "moved" out sons eating habits, she checks the cupboards and fridge, and no food. Just as she thinks her poor little boy is starving to death, she opens a top kitchen cupboard and out pours all the KFC  bowls, very funny and always has the same effect on me, makes me crave one NOW. Bonus the bowls and lids are made of good quality microwave proof plastic type stuff, so make great freezing containers when your done stuffing your face


Steers - Wacky Wednesday
Every Monday, on the SABC, Steers begin their Wacky Wednesday advertising run up. By 10pm Tuesday evening you have been reminded at least 40 times that this Wednesday is "Wacky Wednesday" The offer is buy one Steers burger and get another free. Great off and to top it they have the cutest of TV adverts to go with it.


All about "those Americans think were crazy flame grilling those burger patties versus, deep frying it" and so on leading up to " The Americans think were really crazy when we give one away free" Very clever, think of the UK M&S adverts "It's  not just any burger, it's an M&S burger" and you're got the advert imagery 100%. They also happen to make the best - yes the best slap chips in the universe, coupled with their famous spicy salt, man oh man what a pleasure.




Spur - People with a taste for life.
You have to remember, I first left the UK with my parent's when I was about 8 or 9 so Ive grown up with Spur. I have tons of great memories of it. None as prominent as the great Kiddies Birthday meal treat, complete with singing waiters and cool sparklers. Granted that sort of wears off after you turn about 12 but the food... ummmm the food has stayed just as good.


  The decor hasn't changed a bit, same old cheesy names for each branch, same old Red Indian theme,( you gotta love it!)  and fantastic service, "hello my name is James and Ill be your waiter for the evening)" When they say waiter they mean waiter, those guys deserve every cent they get in their tips. Apart from the obvious steaks on the menu, which are all bloody marvelous, (in particular with the legend that is Spur Pepper Sauce)

They have a range of smaller meals, with us ladies in mind. My favorite is one of their 3 mini combo platters, Spicy Spur chicken wings with durky sauce, and Spur Rib combo. Again it ticks all the boxes, in particular the durky sauce, which try as I may ( and trust me I've tried) I just can't recreate at home. Another winner is their onion rings which come with just about everything.

Did I mention all the Spurs I've been to since Ive been back, and on holidays here have smoking areas? How very civilized, good food, a dop or two and you don't have to freeze going outside for a fag. Go Spur!

That's enough of that, I cant write anymore about food, Ive starting drooling and the hubby is looking at me funny. More food stories to come. But for now here's some food for thought.


South Africa is hosting the world cup in 2010 right? Tourist will need to hire cars to get around, (big old place this) This weekend I wanted to hire a car for a week whilst my son is here, as we haven't bought one yet. Surprise surprise not a car to be had in the Cape, tried Avis, Hertz, Tempest,Sixt the lot, and the reason, "its the Lorey Awards said one of these companies" For those of you who dont have a clue what the Lorey's are. (and I dont blame you one bit) In short its the SABC patting itself on the back, and giving out awards to crappy sitcoms like 7de Laan . Another excuse was "its's school hoildays" Come on, there's not alot of South African family,s with the money to come down to the Cape at the moment. Others just gave me the silent treatment, like I was the stupid one for not understanding they could just run out of cars at the drop of a hat. And the point of today's rant is! God help us when half of Europe descend on South Africa needing to hire cars.

No comments:

Post a Comment